TEFL teaching materials

teaching professional people english

Mindmapping – the origins …

Did you ever wonder where the idea for mindmaps came from??   Well, think no further because today you’re going to find out.  If you read the last post I wrote you may remember I was getting carried away with the mind map thing, so it will come as no surprise that I have not moved on.  Since our students will probably find mind maps to be just as useful as we do, it seems mean to deprive them.  So I propose to give them a lesson on the subject with some pretty pictures and some video.

Lead in

Back by popular demand, here is the mind map gallery.  The visuals are colourful, the subject matter varied.  Plenty to discuss.

Video Comprehension

Either of these videos should be sufficient to stimulate classroom discussion.  I provide a work sheet for each which you can access by clicking on the links.  The first is by far the more difficult, but it will appeal to high-powered folks with big IQs.  The second is much more accessible for intermediate students, especially as the video has visual elements to aid comprehension.

Mind mapping – the origins…

How to ‘mind map’

Resources

the origins of mindmapping worksheet

rules for mindmapping worksheet

About Catherine Kennedy

Second year undergrad (super-mature) at Sheffield Uni doing single honours Religion, Theology, and the Bible. (Formerly TEFL teacher in France)

6 comments on “Mindmapping – the origins …

  1. nuvi 1450lmt
    09/04/2012

    This is absolutely gold. I was not expecting that I’d get so much out of reading your write up! You’ve just got yourself a returning visitor 🙂

  2. Helaine Crother
    04/04/2012

    I would like to take the opportunity of saying thanks to you for that professional assistance I have often enjoyed visiting your site. I will be looking forward to the actual commencement of my university research and the general preparation would never have been complete without visiting your site. If I might be of any assistance to others, I might be pleased to help by what I have gained from here.

  3. Pingback: How To Build A Mind Map « Wisdom Within Coaching

  4. ijkblogger
    23/03/2012

    I think Malwina will enjoy this….she’s rather high powered and is studying accountancy whilst she works packing in a supermarket to support herself and daughter. It will help me get my head round mind mapping.

    • Catherine Kennedy
      23/03/2012

      I’m glad you like it – I did this with an engineering lecturer here in France yesterday, and he had never heard of mind-mapping. Neither had the very high-powered manager I was working with last week. Please let me know if your Polish student has encountered mind mapping – I’m getting curious..

  5. Pingback: Week 4: Tell Me Something I Don’t Know « Months of madness

What do you think?

